Catcher's Interference


What's the Call
Presented with Umpires Media


There is one out, and a runner on third base. The pitch is thrown, the batter makes contact with the catcher’s glove on the swing and lifts a fly ball into left field. The umpire signals catcher’s interference. The ball is caught for the second out, but the runner tags and scores.

As the plate umpire, what is your ruling?

For more What's the Call videos, click here.  

Umpires Media is a leading provider of video-based sports rules explanations, maker of the world’s first digital baseball rulebook and the Baseball Rules Explorer.